Spring 2017 Anime Thoughts- Part 1

bbcb135714ac47b69c628a8ddd3f90bb.jpg

Re:Creators

 

This is a short series I will be starting for each season of new anime, in which I will browse the chart for upcoming anime and write a few thoughts about them. This list is written so that the shows I am most interested in are towards the top, while the shows I will be giving a show are towards the bottom. Any anime not listed is something I won’t be watching, don’t take this as a personal offense. This season, I will continues my trend of only starting shows I find interesting. If I missed any hidden gems, I’ll pick them up once the season ends. I don’t usually start too many anime, and I continue even less. Once the first episode for each series has aired, I will make a follow-up post discussing which series I dropped and which I will be continuing. The final post will be made once the season is over in which I’ll discuss what I thought about each anime as well as the season as a whole. Without further ado, let’s begin!

Watching

Clockwork Planet:

The cover art looks pretty sweet, and I like the Drama and Fantasy tags. The concept of a story about machinery and a steampunk-esque world sounds worthwhile, so hopefully this turns out good.

Sakurada Reset:

This looks like a fun little series, of which I’m feeling a similarity to Orange. Hopefully this series turns out well since I do like the idea of a mystery series with time travel involved.

Re:Creators:

I’ve been watching a bit of mecha anime recently so that tag caught my eye. It’s been a while since I’ve watched an airing mecha show so this could be fun.

Boku no Hero Academia Season 2:

The first season was decent. The world was good enough to keep me watching for 13 episodes and the final few episodes were action-packed. The introduction of the new group of villains and the exciting fights at the end of season one had me plenty interested to see where the next season would go.

Shingeki no Kyojin Season 2:

This anime is probably going to be entertaining in the least. I found the first season to have an interesting premise but wasn’t as hype as many followers claimed it to be. I’ll mostly be picking this up because I’m curious to see where the story goes.

Sakura Quest:

An original anime always is welcome, and this anime seems to be a slice of life show that centers around the work environment, a genre I seem to be drawn towards after Shirobako. This could be fun.

Tsuki Ga Kirei:

Seeing Studio feel work on this was enough to get me interested. (Oregairu S3 never)From the premise, this could either end up being a touching series about the bonds of friendship, or end up like another typical high school anime. Either way, I have a feeling (no pun intended) that this will turn out to be one of the better shows of the season.

Fukumenkei Noise:

A shoujo anime about music with the possibility of romance? Sign me up. I always seem to like shoujo anime more that shounen anime so I’ll be watching this simply due to that.

Gin No Guardian:

This is based of a digital manhua about video games. Looks like another “trapped inside a video game” anime but the premise seems fairly interesting so I’ll be checking this out

Trying

Sword Oratoria:

The studio mostly has me interested here. J.C Staff has done some good stuff previously that I liked so I’m going to at least try this anime. That being said, it’s a based off a fantasy light novel which makes me a bit weary.

Zero Kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho:

Once again, I’ll be giving this show a shot purely because it’s Whitefox and their recent Re:Zero was a highpoint last summer.

Eromanga-sensei:

This will most definitely end up terribly, or be my guilty pleasure of the season.

Films/OVA

Koe no Katachi:

Hopefully the wait has been worth it. Plus, I’m a big fan of Kyoto Animation so it should be top notch animation and artwork.

Mobile Suit Gundam Season 2:

More wonderful jazz music and brilliant mecha battles. This will be great. I loved the original OVA series quite a bit so this should hopefully be just as good.

Hirune Hime: Shiranai Watashi no Monogatari:

For the sake of redundancy, the mecha and drama tag caught my attention. The premise doesn’t seem too “good” but the story seems interesting.

Yoru wa Mijikashi Arukeyo Otome:

The cover art had a neat style and the story focuses on college aged characters which appeals to me more. Could be a decent film.

Blame! The Movie:

For once, CGI looks pretty nice and I heard that the manga is good, so I’ll be giving this a shot.

 

69ce14e87c38c4c6a1a7810d0f67e5fa

Koe no Katachi

This entry was posted in anime, Seasonal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring 2017 Anime Thoughts- Part 1

  1. Karandi says:

    That is quite a watch list. Looking forward to your thoughts once they start.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

